Friday, March 18, 2011

Canada announces roster for Belarus match

Canada has announced its roster for the upcoming Men's International Friendly against Belarus on 29 March. Coach Stephen Hart has selected 18 players for the match, to be played on a FIFA International Date in Antalya, Turkey. This will be Canada's second international match of the 2011 season.

"It will be another good opportunity to get the squad together in light of this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup," said Canadian national head Stephen Hart. "Belarus is a formidable opponent that has done very well in Euro Qualifiers."

Coach Hart has called five new players for the first time in 2011, including both Nik Ledgerwood and Kevin McKenna who were unavailable in February because of injuries. The other first time call-ups for 2011 are Jonathan Beaulieu-Bourgault, André Hainault and Mike Klukowski.

All 18 players have international experience with Canada, including goalkeeper Milan Borjan, defender David Edgar and midfielder Tosaint Ricketts who made their debut on 9 February against Greece. The most experienced player is Paul Stalteri, Canada's all-time leader with 84 appearances. Reigning Canadian Player of the Year Atiba Hutchinson and former Canadian Player of the Year Dwayne De Rosario are the two other players with more than 50 appearances to their credit.

Most of the players selected for this camp and international match currently play with professional clubs in Europe. The two exceptions are Hainault of Houston Dynamo and Will Johnson of Real Salt Lake.

The 29 March match will be the first-ever meeting between Canada and Belarus on the international stage. Canada is currently preparing for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup which runs 5-25 June across USA. The CONCACAF Gold Cup will serve as the confederation's qualification route for the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013.

1- GK- Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball
2- D- Jaime Peters | ENG / Ipswich Town FC
3- M- Mike Klukowski | TUR / MKE Ankaragücü
4- CB- Kevin McKenna | GER / FC Köln
5- D- André Hainault | USA / Houston Dynamo
6- M- Pedro Pacheco | POR / CD Santa Clara
7- D- Paul Stalteri | GER / Borussia Monchengladbach
8- M- Will Johnson | USA / Real Salt Lake
9- F- Rob Friend | GER / Hertha BSC
10- M- Simeon Jackson | ENG / Norwich City FC
11- M- Josh Simpson | TUR / Vestel Manisaspor
12- CB- Adam Straith | GER / FC Energie Cottbus
13- M- Atiba Hutchinson | NED / PSV Eindhoven
14- D- David Edgar | ENG / Burnley FC
15- DF- Nik Ledgerwood | GER / SV Wehen Wiesbaden
16- M/F- Tosaint Ricketts | ROM / FC Politehnica Timisoara
17- M- Jonathan Beaulieu-Bourgault | GER / SC Preußen Münster
22- GK- Milan Borjan | SRB / FK Rad

No comments:

Post a Comment