Tuesday, January 25, 2011

NASL Announces 2011 Regular Season Schedule

Each team will play 28 Regular Season games; Top 6 teams qualify for Playoffs

The North American Soccer League (NASL) proudly announces its 2011 inaugural season schedule, with the action slated to kick off for the regular season on Saturday, April 9. The highlight of the opening weekend is a rematch of last season’s title clash between Carolina and Puerto Rico. The match will take place at Wake Med Soccer Park in Cary, NC. Other matches scheduled for the NASL’s Opening Day Kickoff will include FC Edmonton at Miami FC/Strikers 2011, NSC Minnesota Stars at Atlanta Silverbacks, and Montreal Impact and FC Tampa Bay. FC Edmonton will play its first ever league game at home on May 22nd against the NSC Minnesota Stars. Other schedule highlights include the first ever league meeting between Montreal and Edmonton at Stade Saputo on June 4th, the first leg of the Coastal Cup between FC Tampa Bay and Miami FC/Strikers 2011 on May 14th and the renewal of Carolina’s rivalry with the Atlanta Silverbacks on May 28th.

Teams will play 28 games in the 2011 season, facing each team four times, twice home and twice away. The NASL Regular Season will conclude on September 24th. NASL CEO Aaron Davidson stated “We believe we have created a balanced schedule that is in accordance with international standards for the sport and will improve the game day ambiance for fans, media, players and coaches.”


The top six teams based on a Regular Season Single Table will advance to the playoffs. The top two seeds will receive a bye into the semifinal round and the remaining four teams will play in a single game playoff to advance to the semifinals. Semifinal and finals of the playoffs will consist of the traditional two game home and home series using aggregate goals to determine the winner. The NASL playoff championship series will take place on the weekends of October 22nd and October 29th.

Find the complete schedule by clicking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment